Online Betting Guide

Betting on the AFL Rising Star

The AFL Rising Star Award is given out at the conclusion of the home and away season to the talented youngster deemed to have had the most impact. It is a popular category to bet on with many players who have gone on to be household names having won it. Collingwood youngster Jayden Stephenson is the favourite for the 2018 gong.


#1 Bonus100% matched deposit, up to $520
  • Account To Account deposit
  • Bitcoin deposit
  • Cheque deposit
> Review Bet Now Available to residents of United States
100% matched deposit, up to $520
#2 BonusClaim a 50% deposit bonus up to the value of USD $250
  • Bitcoin deposit
  • Money Transfer deposit
  • Rapid Transfer deposit
> Review Bet Now Available to residents of United States
Claim a 50% deposit bonus up to the value of USD $250
#3 Bonus50% matched deposit up to USD $5,000
  • Litecoin deposit
  • Bitcoin deposit
  • Litecoin deposit
> Review Bet Now Available to residents of United States
50% matched deposit up to USD $5,000
All Bookmakers

What is the Rising Star Award?

For those who don’t know, the Rising Star medal is awarded to the best young talent in the Australian Football League. One nomination is handed out each week to whomever was deemed to be the best-performed youngster in the competition for the round. Players may only receive one nomination each for the year.

To be eligible for Rising Star nomination, players must:

– Be under 21 years of age as of January 1 of this year
– Have played 10 or fewer senior AFL games prior to this season

Players who receive a suspension during the season will be ruled ineligible for the Rising Star. However, as with the Brownlow Medal, a player may still be nominated for the award even after being suspended – despite the fact he cannot rightfully win it.

Whenever the season is over, an expert panel votes on the 23 nominees. Each member of the panel chooses their top five players and awards five votes to their number-one selection, four votes to their second pick, three to their third selection, and so on. The winner is the nominee who collects the most total votes.

Top online bookmakers for AFL Rising Star betting – Now owned by the Packers, the sports book formerly known as BetEasy remains an excellent destination for all your AFL wagering needs. – For the best Rising Star odds, you can’t go past Australia’s most recognisable bookmaking brand. Sportsbet should be your first stop for all AFL futures, exotics and novelty bets. – Few online bookies can match these guys for sheer spread of football betting markets. Bet365’s AFL outrights cover all the big individual awards, as well as more specialised markets such as the McClelland Trophy (minor premiership) and who will miss the eight. – Since rejoining to Australian betting scene in 2015, William Hill has quickly established itself as one of the very best AFL betting sites on the Net. Match odds, future bets, footy props – every market you could ever want is right there. – A clean website, a nice range of AFL markets, and very competitive odds – what more could you ask for from a football betting site?

Past winners of the AFL Rising Star Award

1994 – Chris Scott (Brisbane Bears)
1995 – Nick Holland (Hawthorn)
1996 – Ben Cousins (West Coast)
1997 – Michael Wilson (Port Adelaide)
1998 – Byron Pickett (North Melbourne)
1999 – Adam Goodes (Sydney)
2000 – Paul Hasleby (Fremantle)
2001 – Justin Koschitzke (St Kilda)
2002 – Nick Riewoldt (St Kilda)
2003 – Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn)
2004 – Jared Rivers (Melbourne)
2005 – Brett Deledio (Richmond)
2006 – Danyle Pearce (Port Adelaide)
2007 – Joel Selwood (Geelong)
2008 – Rhys Palmer (Fremantle)
2009 – Daniel Rich (Brisbane Lions)
2010 – Daniel Hannebery (Sydney)
2011 – Dyson Heppell (Essendon)
2012 – Daniel Talia (Adelaide)
2013 – Jaeger O’Meara (Gold Coast)
2014 – Lewis Taylor (Brisbane Lions)
2015 – Jesse Hogan (Melbourne)
2016 – Callum Mills (Sydney)

Crownbet is the official AFL betting partner and offers many markets on the Rising Star award – Claim $650 in bonus bets now