Online Betting Guide

2019 Tour de France betting sites

Le Tour de France is the grandest of all the Grand Tours on the road cycling circuit. Staged over three weeks every summer, it offers myriad betting opportunities for the canny gambler who knows the riders, the stages and the classifications.

United States Best online sportsbooks Best online sportsbooks

#1 Claim a 50% deposit bonus up to the value of USD $250
  • Bitcoin deposit
  • Money Transfer deposit
  • Rapid Transfer deposit
> Review Bet Now Available to residents of United States
Claim a 50% deposit bonus up to the value of USD $250
#2 50% matched deposit up to USD $5,000
  • Bank Wire deposit
  • Bitcoin deposit
  • Cashier Cheque deposit
> Review Bet Now Available to residents of United States
50% matched deposit up to USD $5,000

Best online bookmakers for Tour de France

Hundreds of online bookmakers take bets on Le Tour, but we at only recommend those that meet the highest industry standards for online security, fair operation and all-round quality. To earn our seal of approval, a bookie must pass the following tests:

– Licensed in a recognised regulatory jurisdiction for online gambling
– Equipped with SSL (Secure Socket Layer) digital encryptions or better
– Accepts secure payment methods such as Visa, MasterCard, Neteller and Skrill
– Supports major currencies such as US dollars, British pounds and Euros
– Competitive odds, excellent market depth and superior customer service

Each of the online sportsbooks in the table above meets those key criteria for gamblers in United States. To ensure maximum value when betting on major events such as Tour de France, we suggest signing up at multiple sites and comparing the odds.

How to bet on Tour de France

The Tour de France comes with more online betting options than any other road cycling race. Below are a few of the most popular markets available at leading sports betting operators.

Outright betting – Who will win the race? Bookies run outright winner markets for all classifications.

Team betting – Which team will take home the general classification? That’s all there is to it.

Stage betting – Who will cross the finish line first? Bookies take bets on each of the 21 stages.

Props and exotics – Choose from head-to-head matchups, time margins and dozens of props for each stage.

Le Tour de France 2019 stages

This year’s Tour de France starts Saturday, July 6 and finishes Sunday, July 28 at Paris Champs-Élysées. With the exception of a short stint across the Spanish border during the 16th stage, the entirety of the 3,351 kilometre race will take place in Metropolitan France.

1 Sat, July 6 Bruxelles > Brussel 192km Flat
2 Sun, July 7 Bruxelles Palais Royal > Brussel Atomium 27km Team TT
3 Mon, July 8 Binche > Épernay 214km Hilly
4 Tue, July 9 Reims > Nancy 215km Flat
5 Wed, July 10 Saint-Dié-des-Vosges > Colmar 169km Hilly
6 Thu, July 11 Mulhouse > La Planche des Belles Filles 157km Mountain
7 Fri, July 12 Belfort > Chalon-sur-Saône 230km Flat
8 Sat, July 13 Mâcon > Saint-Étienne 199km Hilly
9 Sun, July 14 Saint-Étienne > Brioude 170km Hilly
10 Mon, July 15 Saint-Flour > Albi 218km Flat
REST DAY Tue, July 16 Albi
11 Wed, July 17 Albi > Toulouse 167km Flat
12 Thu, July 18 Toulouse > Bagnères-de-Bigorre 202km Mountain
13 Fri, July 19 Pau > Pau 27km Individual TT
14 Sat, July 20 Tarbes > Tourmalet Barèges 117km Mountain
15 Sun, July 21 Limoux > Foix Prat d’Albis 185km Mountain
REST DAY Mon, July 22 Nîmes
16 Tue, July 23 Nîmes > Nîmes 177km Flat
17 Wed, July 24 Pont du Gard > Gap 206km Hilly
18 Thu, July 25 Embrun > Valloire 207km Mountain
19 Fri, July 26 Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne > Tignes 123km Mountain
20 Sat, July 27 Albertville > Val Thorens 131km Mountain
21 Sun, July 28 Rambouillet > Paris Champs-Élysées 127km Flat


Tour de France classifications

Le Tour’s various classifications are designed to showcase all different types of cyclists, from the hardiest stayers to the zippiest sprinters. Here’s how they work.

General classification

Awarded each year since 1903, the general classification is the oldest and most prestigious title on offer at the Tour de France. The winner is determined by tallying each rider’s aggregate time over the course of all 21 stages. Throughout the race, the leader of the general classification earns the right to wear the coveted yellow jersey.

Mountains classification

Introduced in 1933, the Tour de France mountain classification rewards those who perform best during the race’s gruelling alpine stages. The number of points available depends on the difficulty of the climb – for example, a total of 97 points are dished out to the first 10 climbers to complete the longest, steepest ascents. The classification leader wears the distinctive white jersey with red polka dots and the winner is declared King of the Mountains.

Points classification

The points classification was introduced in 1953 in a bid to attract sprinters to Le Tour. Points are awarded to the first 15 riders across the line at the end of each stage. There are also bonus points for the first 15 riders to reach designated sprint zones within stages. Whomever finishes with the most points wins the green jersey, which is worn by the points leader throughout the race.

Young rider classification

The young rider title has undergone several changes over the years. Originally, only riders in their first three years on the professional circuit were eligible. In 1983, the classification was restricted to only those who were competing in Le Tour for the first time. That lasted until 1987, when the rules were broadened to include all riders under the age of 26. Within those guidelines, the white jersey is awarded in the same manner as the general classification.

Tour de France winners by classification

Tour de France records

Most Tour de France titles: Five – Jacques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault, Miguel Indurain

Most yellow jerseys: 96 – Eddy Merckx

Most yellow jerseys without winning: 29 – Fabian Cancellara

Most stage wins: 34 – Eddy Merckx

Most appearances: 17 – Stuart O’Grady, Jens Voigt, Sylvain Chavanel

Most finishes: 16 – Joop Zoetemelk

Largest winning margin: Two hours, 59 minutes, 21 seconds – Maurice Garin, 1903

Shortest winning margin: Eight seconds – Greg LeMond, 1989

Latest news and betting tips